Posted in Uncategorized

This Edition of Writer’s Block Just. Won’t. Leave.

Okay, so do y’all remember that song that went like this:

“This is the song that doesn’t end.
Yes, it goes on and on, my friends.
Some people started singing it not knowing what it was and they’ll continue singing it forever just because…”

and then the song would repeat over and over for as long as you felt like singing it or until someone smacked you upside the head for singing it.

It got stuck in your head just now, hasn’t it? My apologies. LOL

But I’m suffering from the worst case of writer’s block and that’s kind of how it feels. The writer’s block just doesn’t end. Yes, it goes on and on, my friends….

Writing used to be fun for me. It used to be a part of me.

And now it seems as if I’ve lost it. I’ve lost that piece of me that would write until my heart was content. I’ve lost that drive to write. I used to be able to knock out page after page of words. The words would just flow right on out.

When I was in high school, it was nothing for me to escape to my room after school and just bang out poem after poem. I don’t know how I did it, I just did.

I would LOVE to go back to that time…

As I’ve gotten older and as I’ve developed that dreaded “brain fog” that comes with the fibromyalgia and bipolar, I have discovered that my writing, to me that is, has become a useless mess of meaningless words.

I literally cannot think of what to write when my brain fog is kicking in full gear. I’ll sit at the computer or with a pen in hand and will attempt to write something clever, something that will catch my reader’s attention and…..nothing.

Writing has become a chore. It’s no longer fun for me and that hurts. I need it back. I need that part of me that would write to escape the realities of this world. (And with 2020 being the nuisance that it is, being able to escape would be GREAT!)

I know what some of you are going to say….”You’re overthinking it” (which is definitely possible, LOL) or “You’re trying too hard.” (again, a possibility.)

The.Words.Just.Won’t.Come.

This edition of writer’s block just won’t go away. LOL