Posted in christian living, Faith, Jesus, love, peace

Seeking God

13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.
Jeremiah 29:13

First PlaceI grew up in church. I participated in church functions. But I never searched after God. I never actively read my Bible as a teenager. I THOUGHT I was a Christian because I went to church and participated in events.

I was just going through the motions, however. And when I was 19 years old I finally found God. We had an evangelist come and speak at our church and it was a statement he made that got my attention and made me realize I was not who I thought I was. He told us, “You can be 99% sure about salvation but you’re still 100% lost. Right then, I realized I had all the head knowledge of God but no heart knowledge. And on March 16, 2003, I gave my life to Christ. I sought after God.

It will be 15 years on March 16th that I gave my life to the Lord. My spiritual birthday.

I’ve had my moments of weakness, however, and did stray from the Lord for some time in these past 15 years but last July I finally got serious and finally realized it was time to stop playing church. It was time to get serious about following the Lord.

God doesn’t hide from us! He wants to have a close relationship with us if we would just seek Him. And if we seek Him with all our heart and soul, we will find Him!

But if from there you seek the Lord your God, you will find him if you seek him with all your heart and with all your soul.
Deuteronomy 4:29

And so I rededicated my life to the Lord and have been in His Word ever since. The thought of living a life separate from God absolutely terrifies me. I don’t want to be anywhere where God isn’t.

Y’all….God is so awesome! I fall in love with Him every day. He has ways of showing Himself to me that just make me stand in awe of Him.

I want to be in God’s will. And I know that I must pick up my cross daily. I must deny myself and follow after Him. I know that I will have struggles. I’m currently in the midst of a struggle but I know without a doubt that the Lord is right here beside me and is in control.

Jesus is becoming my best friend. He is my Protector, my Prince of Peace, my All in all. He’s my Shepherd, my Comforter. He’s the King of kings and Lord of lords. He is worthy to be praised! He is my GOD!

Who is Jesus to you? 

 

7 thoughts on “Seeking God

  1. I love you Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
    I called to the Lord, who is worthy of praise, and I have been saved from my enemies.
    Psalm 18 v 1-3

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Love this! Thanks for sharing. God is so very awesome. God is my all in all, He is the reason that I am who I am, why I survived everything I lived through.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your testimony is beautiful Leigh. Jesus is everything to me. There are not enough words to describe what He is. I am nothing without Him, and everything with Him. He never lets me down, and has shown me over and over how much He loves me, and fights for me, and wants me to be happy in this failed world, until He brings me home. He shows me that I can come to Him in everything, good and bad, big and small. That nothing is unimportant where I am concerned. He humbles me to make me the person He wants me to be. He teaches me new things each day. He shows me how this isn’t just something that He does for me but for us all, and that there is enough of Him to go around. He shows me that we are all equal in His eyes, not one of us better than the other so that I can freely love everyone, like He does. That He never compares us so I don’t have to compete, or am not good enough, or that I am not deserving, or don’t measure up. This is just a tiny portion of what He is to me, and us all. Like I said, there aren’t enough words. God bless you 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment