Posted in beauty, bible verses, christian living, christianity

Inner Beauty

attractive beautiful beautiful girl beauty
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

I’ve always struggled with my looks. I’ve never thought of myself as pretty. My self esteem has always been low. My confidence has always been almost non-existent. I’ve been like this for as long as I can remember.

I’ve gained some weight too. Apparently, fibromyalgia causes weight gain and the medicine I’m on FOR the fibro causes weight gain. Super. I’m determined to get the weight off but it’s a struggle.

And now that I’m struggling with dental problems, things have just gotten worse. I’m 35 years old and need dentures but can’t afford them. I have no dental insurance. I hate to smile these days because I am so embarrassed by how my teeth look.

But just this morning in my devotions, I was reminded that God doesn’t look at outward appearances like man does. In 1 Samuel 16:7, it says

….The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance but the Lord looks at the heart.

It’s our inner beauty that counts. It’s what our heart looks like that really matters. God doesn’t look at our outward flaws.

He cares about what is on the inside.

How is your heart “appearance?”

Do you struggle with inner beauty?