Posted in bible verses, bipolar, christian living, christianity, Faith, fear, Jesus, love, peace, phobias, rest, worry

From Panic to Peace

A woman with dyed red hair sips from a teacup at an outdoor cafe table
Photo by Dc Lovensky on Unsplash

When I was 17, I started having panic attacks. To this day, I have no idea where they came from. Nothing significant had occurred in my life. They just showed up. Out of nowhere.

 

One night, as I was trying to get to sleep, I had a major panic attack. It was so bad that my hands seized into a fist, my heart was racing super fast and I literally thought I was dying. My mom tried her level best to unclench my fists but she couldn’t. It was miserable. My mom told me later that when she put her hand over my heart, it felt like a heard of horses galloping.

Mom took me to an urgent care where the doctor put me on Xanax, which made my panic attacks worse. So they switched to Klonopin. I was on that for years and for the most part, it kept my panic attacks at bay. I would still have some but they weren’t nearly as bad.

Well, eventually, I had to stop taking the Klonopin because I no longer had insurance and so I couldn’t afford it. I started going to a clinic in my city that helps those who are uninsured and they put me on Lexapro. That stopped working so my doctor put me on Celexa which I am still on. And it works wonders. I still have minor setbacks but they are nowhere NEAR as bad as that one night when I was 17.

But you know what the best medicine is? God’s Word. I find that when I’m feeling even remotely anxious, I just turn to God’s Word and look up Scripture on anxiety.

Do not be anxious about anything but in every situation by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:6-7

Some people believe that medications are not needed and that just by having enough faith is enough. I’m sorry, but I don’t believe this. When a person has a panic disorder or suffers from depression, there is a chemical imbalance taking place in the brain. In some cases, medication is a necessity, as in my case. I tried to wean myself off my medications once and it was awful.

Photo by Bethany Laird on Unsplash

Some more Scripture you can read if you are feeling anxious:

 

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.
Matthew 6:33-34

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.|
Jeremiah 29:11

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.
1 Peter 5:7

 

We live in an anxiety-driven world. But God’s Word promises us that as His children, one day we will live in a peace-filled world! One day He is coming back for us and all of life’s worries will be gone! Can I get an AMEN!

 

Have you ever had a panic attack? What did it feel like to you?

8 thoughts on “From Panic to Peace

  1. I am truly inspired by the honesty and truth that is found in your writing Leigh, you are a true blessing. Thank you sharing your love for the Lord. I love Philippians 4 6-7, I wear a small disk with peace on one side and Phil 4 6~7 on the flip side as a reminder. Panic attacks are truly disabling and yet not enough people talk frankly and open about mental health and faith…

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I have also experienced horrible panic attacks in my life, sometimes completely out of the blue without rhyme or reason. I definitely know that my faith, and more importantly, that God strengthens me against such attacks

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Leigh – you are so honest, and also so right! God’s word can sooth you in anxious times, but there are also times and conditions when medicines are needed. God gave man the wisdom to invent these medicines – why not sue them if we must? We should still give Him the glory for our healing, even if we do use medicine to get there!

    Be blessed

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I believe God gives us healing through miracles, medicine, and comfort from the Holy Spirit. It comes in all ways 🙂 He isn’t limited, and we need to stop thinking He will only use one way for healing. Sometimes healing does not come the way we think. So glad you shared this!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. D panic attacks for me have been under control for so many years that last week when I was hit with one I have forgotten my coping skills! I had been immersing myself in scriptures but multiple things had been coming up in my life on multiple fronts and I gotten too busy to make sure that some of my supplements that help with the chemical and balances along with some medications were taken. I made sure that my medications were taken but I had not realized how crucial some of these supplements were to helping my chemical imbalance respond better to my medications! One person told me to read 1st Thessalonians 2 through 4 and in my heightened panic State my reaction was why didn’t you just tell me to read the whole book? I’ve taken the last week to remind myself of coping skills, I am making sure that I keep my nutritional and medical and spiritual goals in mind, and I thank God that I do not live with panic attacks in the way I used to. This was such a timely post! Thank you for your transparency. It’s always nice to know that we’re not alone!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Panic attacks are the worst! I’m glad they don’t affect you as they used to. Yeah, sometimes one will pop up but thank goodness they don’t have nearly the same effect anymore!
      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a comment